Testimonials

Testimonials from previous clients via Survey Monkey:

15.02.2021

All staff were extremely attentive, polite and helpful. Timings were on point. Dr Davies performed a perfect procedure on my ligament and I have had absolutely no mishaps since the surgery. Mr Nev Davies calmly explained the full procedure, not withholding any information and treating me like a human going through surgery rather than simply a patient. The surgery seemed to go perfectly and I am recovering as well as I ever could have expected to. Could not recommend his services enough.

15.02.2021

Everything was super easy and very fast.  A very lovely guy that made me feel at ease and confident that we could get to the bottom of my issue.

12.02.2021

The appointment was on time and Mr Davies was great – he did a thorough physical exam of my son and was very reassuring in his assessment. The follow up letter was also especially helpful. I would definitely recommend Mr Davies to others.

09.02.2021

Very good experience. Very competent and takes the time to fully explain everything – would highly recommend.

22.01.2021

Everything ran like clockwork, most efficient one-stop approach at the Rutherford Centre in Shinfield where my physiotherapist (One Physio) was located. After having several physio sessions with little improvement I was referred to Mr Davies for consultation. Debbie Rollason (Mr Davie’s secretary) quickly arranged an appointment for me to see him at the Rutherford Centre and within half an hour after seeing Mr Davies I had my MRI scan to determine the root cause of my knee problem and discuss treatment plan. The facilities at the Rutherford Centre are outstanding with state of the art diagnostic equipment including MRI.

Mr Davies is an outstanding Consultant Surgeon who took time to explain the nature of my knee injury (small tear in meniscus) and the proposed a treatment plan. Rather than rushing into surgery, Mr Davies took a pragmatic low risk approach by giving a steroid injection into the knee joint to help settle the inflammation and suggested resumption of physiotherapy with arthroscopy as a back-up approach if required. It has been three days now since I had the steroid injection and am already feeling the benefit. I am now able to move my knee much more freely without pain and will begin new physiotherapy sessions within the next few days. Not only is Mr Davies an expert in his field he also shows a lot of empathy making you feel totally at ease. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Mr Davies to anyone!

22.01.2021

A very good experience with Dr Davies. Follow up appointment was quick. Dr Davies’ secretary was very helpful. I found Dr Davies very helpful and he answered all the questions I had and provided useful information and advice.

18.01.2021

My overall experience with Mr.Davies and his team was very good. Debby, his secretary, is very helpful. She answer emails, any doubts and questions very promptly. Easy to book appointments. My appointments were always on time. Thank you.

Mr.Davies listens to your needs and concerns. He communicates very clear about the assessment outcome, the different options available for the recovery/rehabilitation plan. Thank you.

06.01.2021

Mr Davies is very punctual. It was a fast and slick process to get an appointment with him. Mr Davies has a professional manner and has helped me resolve my immediate knee issue.

05.01.2021

Everything was easy. It would have been great if I could have combined my scan feedback appointment with the treatment appointment instead of making two separate trips but can’t fault the care or professionalism. Extremely impressed with Mr Davies and his secretary Debbie.

Friendly, professional and he explained everything very clearly and concisely. Would highly recommend

10.12.2020

I was most appreciative that Mr Davies made time for consultation and especially a quick date for the operation.

Nev Davies went out of his way to make sure that I was comfortable with his assessment. He has made himself available for consultations and the operation throughout. I am very happy with the outcome of the operation albeit it is only just over 2 weeks since the operation.

08.11.2020

We were lucky to have been seen very quickly – could not fault the treatment or aftercare we received.

We had a really positive experience with Nev. He was friendly and professional and gave us first class treatment and advice. We feel very lucky to have had him as our surgeon and we would recommend him to anyone in a similar situation!

         02.11.2020

The booking was easy to make and the waiting time was less than I was expecting. All staff were helpful and approachable.

Nev Davies is very friendly and knowledgeable consultant. He managed to explain injury and process to recovery very well to my son who was very apprehensive to start with. He is a credit to RBH and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him to anyone

02.11.2020

Very easy to book appointments with very helpful practice manager. Appointments were available quickly, but if I was not able to attend, alternative dates were readily forthcoming.

Mr. Davies is very friendly and informative. He engages you in all aspects of the treatment, so you know what’s going on and feel that what he is suggesting is the best possible advice. I wish more consultants could take his approach to patient care.

30.10.2020

All very helpful. Convenient appointment time. Very helpful with follow up appointment with physio

Mr Davies has examined my knees on several occasions. He has explained clearly the issues with them and has guided me on the best course of action. I have always felt very assured by his knowledge and advice.

22.10.2020

Fantastic experience! Both Nev and Debbie were very efficient from start to finish. My MRI was reviewed in the Wednesday and I was in the OR on Monday morning. This is the second operation I have had with Nev over the past 3 years and the experience is still 5*!

Nev is always very informative and takes you through the process step by step and never leaves you with any questions. At no point was I worried or concerned by the route Nev advised would be best, nor was I worried on the day if the operation. This is my second procedure with Nev and I could not be happier with the results. Although I hope I do not need another operation on my knees, Nev is the first person I would contact!

27.05.2020

Mr Nev Davies has a very pleasant manner & was easy to talk to. The service provided was efficient, quickly identified the problems I had and was able to recommend treatment close to where I live.

26.05.2020

Experience was good – staff polite and helpful

Nev is clearly very knowledgeable in his field and was helpful in reviewing and advising on the options for my knee.

23.05.2020

Mr. Nev Davies and Debbie his secretary were fantastic

Mr Nev Davies is a fantastic surgeon he put in a half knee joint in my right knee i have had no problem with it every since the operation in august last year. I have no more pain in my knee at all. I would recommend him to anyone.

21.05.2020

The wait time for the last two consultations were a little lengthy. However all in all my experience of my treatment was extremely good. Service and professionalism from both Mr Davies, his PA and other admin staff at the Circle were second to none. Communication, appointment bookings and support were great too.

After sustaining an ACL rupture on a skiing holiday, I was referred to Mr Nev Davies for treatment. His advice and explanation of the pros and cons to surgery helped me make the right choice, for me, to go ahead and have my knee repaired. His professionalism, courteous approach and assurance made me feel at ease pre and post op. He explained, in detail, what I was to expect pre, during and post surgery. The surgery went well. I was extremely pleased how it all went. The support and rehabilitation advice I received after surgery, from him, was great too, as with-in 4 months I was able to return to cycling and then with-in 8 to 9 months post surgery I was able to do aerobic activities such as Zumba. I can’t thank him and his team enough.

21.05.2020

I was very pleased with my experience , I was seen at the proposed time and the staff were extremely helpful, I did have to have x rays etc carried out and these were carried out swiftly

Mr Nev davies is a extremely passionate about the work he carries out in the medical profession, He is very professional in his approach and talks you through the procedures required

20.05.2020

Overall very good experience. Appointments on time, comprehensive information given by surgeon, good assessment, secretary very helpful and promptly replies, clinic tidy and clean.

Mr. Nev Davies carried out a good initial assessment and surgical treatment after I ruptured my ACL. A variety of treatment plans were presented (conservative rehabilitation, non-surgical and surgical options) during initial assessment. Any doubts and concerns were listent and clarified. Treatment plan was made based on Mr.Nev Davies surgical expertise and my personal views were taken into consideration. Mr. Nev Daves and his surgical team were professional and demonstrated very good expertise about ACL reconstruction. The post-surgical follow up assessment was very good (6 weeks post-op). So far, no complications and good recovery. His secretary was also very kind, helpful and professional. Overall, very good experience.

20.05.2020

Mr Davies was very thorough, knowledgeable and reassuring. The MRI was easy to book and all staff were helpful. Thank you.

20.05.2020

Impressed x-ray immediately at first appointment and MRI booked soon afterwards. Unfortunately all stopped at moment due to Coronavirus.

20.05.2020

All very professional and quick to resolve any queries.

Explained initial diagnosis and the direction this would take us. After X-ray a brief consultation and then deeper diagnosis and resulting appointments.

20.05.2020

A very positive experience from the efficient and friendly assistant, quality discussion of symptoms and diagnosis and then excellent referrals for further treatment. I could not have wanted more.

 

Personal Testimonials via email and letter

Dear Nev,

I am sure you won’t remember me, but I came to see you approximately four years ago and talked through the pros and cons of having an ACL replacement following an ACL rupture in my right knee I suffered playing an ill- advised game of beach volley ball on holiday in Antigua. I went ahead with the operation which you successfully performed at the Dunedin Hospital in Reading, I got on with my rehab and I now  just wanted to let you to know that I will be running the London Marathon in three weeks (and raising money for Whizz-Kidz a disability charity for young people.)

This letter is just a belated thank you for enabling this to happen. My right knee has behaved brilliantly in the years since the operation and has performed very well in the last six months of training (in fact it feels a lot stronger than the rest of me!)

When we talked about the operation you were very positive about me running again and you have been proved overwhelmingly right!  You can tell your future patients, if you wish, that you have a previous patient that went on to run a marathon again and who will always be grateful for your experience and skill.

Thank you

Best Wishes

David Ayling-Smith

 

Hi Debbie,

Here is my appraisal!

I had a knee arthroscopy to remove and clean up damaged cartilage after 6 years of repeated injury and dislocation from playing sport. I had been putting off the idea of surgery, but it was a great decision to finally get it seen to. I couldn’t be happier with the results so far, and in less time than expected. Running, squats and climbing stair caused pain, and a lot more cracking than a 22 year old’s knee should have! Now 2 weeks after the op, and following the physio exercises given after the operations, I am driving and climbing/ descending stairs without a problem and on the road to a full recovery and hoping to get back to regular exercise within the next few weeks.

The staff at the Circle hospital were great, and would like the thank my surgeon, Nev Davies for fixing the problem and taking me through an explanation of the work he did in the follow up.

Please send my thanks to  Nev.

Kind regards,

Andy

 

Carol (58 year old female)

Over the years I’ve competed in a number of sports including athletics, football, netball and volleyball. Currently my activities include ballroom and Latin dancing, body conditioning, yoga and walking. I’ve had previous arthroscopies on both knees and a lateral uni-compartmental right knee replacement in 2014.

On 31st October, the day before moving house, I was rushing around getting last minute things in place and I twisted the lateral side of my left knee whilst running up the stairs. I felt something go and was in a lot of pain and could barely put weight on it. After two weeks with little improvement I arranged for physiotherapy. 8 weeks later and little improvement my physiotherapist and I agreed that something was still not right. In the hope of avoiding surgery I saw a sports injury rehab specialist; but after having the MRI scan she explained that I had two meniscus cartilage tears (one significant) and the best course of action was surgery.

Consultation
I chose to see Nev Davies and an appointment was made in February. Nev examined me and went through the MRI results with me in detail and showed me the tears and arthritic changes on the screen. I agreed to go ahead with the arthroscopy hoping for good improvement in terms of pain and movement. I was booked in for the arthroscopy 2 weeks later.  Nev directed me to the website where I read the detail of the surgery and the personal experiences of others.

Surgery Day
I was booked in for afternoon surgery at aspire Dunedin and arrived at midday. I could eat an early breakfast and drink up until 11am. The anaesthetist and Nev Davies both came to see me prior to the surgery and we reviewed what the surgery would entail then off to sleep I went. Two hours later I was back in my room with a bandage around my knee. I had no pain and was able to eat, drink and get out of bed over the next couple of hours. I went home later that evening and I was given pain killers to take. Overall my surgery was a straightforward experience except for some post-operative bleeding.

First Two Weeks Post Surgery
At home I regularly elevated and iced my knee to avoid swelling, carried out my physio exercises exactly as shown. I had no problem walking, climbing stairs and mobilising and bending my knee. I had no pain and did not need the pain killers. My only small concern was some significant bruising. I sent a photo of this to Nev and he advised that this was normal. The bruising went over the next week.

Follow up Visit
Two weeks post surgery at my follow up visit with Nev he explained that on the lateral of my knee I he cut away a large tear (the size of a thumb nail) cleaned out some loose fragments and smoothed out the joint surfaces damaged by arthritis. We all know that cartilage does not regenerate so clearly some damage remains. On the plus side Nev informed me that the inside of my knee joint was in near perfect condition. He advised me to exercise to get very strong and that I may need an Osteotomy at some stage; and directed me to the document on the website about Osteotomy surgery for information.

Four Weeks Post Surgery
I have been following a very rigid exercise and physio programme and despite this I am a little disappointed (but not surprised, if I’m honest) that I still have some discomfort when squatting, lunging or twisting. I knew that this was possible at this stage but I am still hopeful that as I get stronger I can continue with activities like dancing, body conditioning, yoga and walking. An arthroscopy is a technique used to diagnose and where possible treat symptoms and does not always ‘fix’ a problem. My hope is that if I continue to work hard to build up strength and stability that I can continue to enjoy my leisure activities. I also realise that an Osteotomy, partial or full knee replacement may be on the cards for me at some stage.

FOR MORE CLICK HERE

 

 

Contact Form

    Your Name*

    Contact Email*

    Contact Number*

    Your Message

    Recent News

    Information for Families – Overriding 5th toe

    Nev Davies Reading Children’s Orthopaedic Unit What is an overriding 5th Toe? This uncommon condition is usually present at birth but can become more noticeable…

    Nev talking at the 2nd International Child and Adolescent Knee Congress

    Nev is delighted and honoured to have been invited to Talk at The 2nd International Child and Adolescent Knee Congress in Sheffield later this year….

    My Second ACL Reconstruction & High Tibial Osteotomy

    this article was originally posted on physiolabinfohub.com One of our patients, Mark Abbott, explains how a severe knee injury at the age of 18 resulted…

    Testimonials

    I had a knee arthroscopy to removed and clean up damaged cartilage after 6 years of repeated injury and dislocation from playing sport. I had been putting off the idea of surgery, but it was a great decision to finally get it seen to. I couldn't be happier with the results so far, and in less time than expected. Running, squats and climbing stair caused pain, and a lot more cracking than a 22 year old's knee should have! Now 2 weeks after the op, and following the physio exercises given after the operations, I am driving and climbing/ descending stairs without a problem and on the road to a full recover and hoping to get back to regular exercise within the next few weeks.

    I came to see you approximately four years ago and talked through the pros and cons of having an ACL replacement following an ACL rupture in my right knee I suffered playing an ill- advised game of beach volley ball on holiday in Antigua. I went ahead with the operation which you successfully performed at the Dunedin Hospital in Reading, I got on with my rehab and I now just wanted to let you to know that I will be running the London Marathon in three weeks (and raising money for Whizz-Kidz a disability charity for young people.) This letter is just a belated thank you for enabling this to happen.

    Mr Davies is a fantastic surgeon he put in a half knee joint in my right knee I have no problem with it ever since the operation in August last year. I have no more pain in my knee at all. I would recommend him to anyone.

    Mr Nev Davies has a very pleasant manner and was easy to talk to. The service provided was efficient, quickly identified the problems I had and was able to recommend treatment close to where I live.

    Memberships

    • General Medical Council (GMC) Membership
    • Royal College of Surgeons of England (RCS(Eng.))
    • British Medical Association (BMA)
    • British Orthopaedic Association (BOA)
    • British Society of Children's Orthopaedic Surgery (BSCOS)
    • British Association of Surgery of the Knee (BASK)
    • AO European Trauma Group
    • British Orthopaedic Sports Trauma and Arthroscopy Association (BOSTAA)